About Soka University

 Soka University was founded in 1971 under the founding principles of "Be the highest seat of learning for humanistic education," "Be the cradle of a new culture," and "Be a fortress for the peace of humankind." "Soka" means value creation in Japanese, and the primary mission of Soka University is in creating such values for the greater benefit of humanity. The university continues to foster creative individuals who can create values under any difficulties.

 Soka University consists of 8 faculties: Economics, Business Administration, Law, Letters, Education, Science and Engineering, Nursing, and International Liberal Arts. Since its establishment, the number of international exchange partners has grown to 154 universities in 48 countries and regions. In 2012, the university was selected for the Go Global Japan Project and in 2014, the Top Global University Project both initiated by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT).

 Aiming towards its 50th anniversary in 2020, Soka University will cultivate a campus full of diversity and continue to produce creative global citizens who possess the understanding of different cultures as well as the principle of co-existence.

* The name “Faculty of Science” changed to “Faculty of Science and Engineering” from AY 2015

SOKA University

Recent Articles